top of page

Let's Talk Jam

Do you buy homemade jam from local markets and street fairs? What about cakes, patchwork cushions, or artwork?

If you went into a supermarket and saw homemade jams alongside branded ones, what would you think? I’m not buying that? It can’t possibly be as good as the one produced by the company who’s been making jam for years? Or would you think, hmm, that looks inviting, made with passion, probably hasn’t followed the textbook recipe, and there may even be an added, unusual ingredient that makes it even more tasty?

When you stand at the display contemplating which tasty goodie to put in your basket, does it cross your mind whether it was made in a kitchen, that may or may not have been visited by Environmental Health? Do you wonder if there’s a certificate on the wall, to prove industry professionals think the cook is qualified to do the job? I mean, how can someone who’s only ever made jam at home think their product is good enough for public consumption? Perhaps, they should stick to feeding it to their family and friends?

Personally, I like homemade jam. It feels more personal. It’s fresh and unmarred by artificial ingredients. I love the little circle of greaseproof paper and the scrap of Granny’s dress tied to the top, instead of a sanitised screw cap. I don’t care if I see a spot of mould, a week after I’ve opened it; I simply scrape it off and carry on.

I’ve enjoyed the rich flavours of homemade jam, since I saw my first hand-written label, and will continue to spread it on my toast for as long as it’s available.

Just something to think about.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page